The Vrinda-Zubin-chaai-theory

After some lab work at 5:30pm. and not much to do until 6(sadly, i have evening lectures!) I had idli at the new Gullu cafe. Whilst heading back to my beloved department, I see Vrinda entering the cafe. She persuaded me to stop and paid for my tea! Too careful and dreaded not to burn my tongue and spend horrible 2 days, I decided to wait for the tea temperature to be bearable. By then she was done with her juice and I was still struggling.

We started walking. Generally people match paces while walking, so did we. Though the previous sentence may sound stupid and obvious, remember it. I had the tea cup in my hand. I realized (many a times before too) that while I walk with anything to drink and I try to sip, naturally my body decelerates and as I start sipping, I am stationary in the same frame of reference. No matter what my speed is, the deceleration depends on how quickly I try to bring the cup near me. I tried it many times, but somehow I cannot walk and sip at the same time. What the heck!

Well, I also observed that while I occasionally stopped and sipped my tea, Vrinda took exactly 4 steps in the process and I pretty much sipped a fixed amount every time. The volume of the tea cup is known; calculating the distance(from the number of steps) we walked and the frequency of sipping(once every 10 steps or so), we can calculate the volume of tea I take in every time. Bingo!

Some correction factors to be incorporated in the above expression are:
(1) When vrinda realized I had stopped she would walk a bit slow and account for something less than 4 steps(3.5 eh?)
(2) I sipped a bit more as the tea tea temperature dropped.
(3) Although I certainly stop as I am about to sip, sometimes when the volume is really low in the container(10% of the original height) I am less conscious and my velocity is not exactly zero, almost zero!
PS: The rest is math, I leave it upto the readers to create equations and error expressions. Happy to help :)
My inability to drink while walking has helped calculate an important quantity in my life. Freaking cool…
13 thoughts on “The Vrinda-Zubin-chaai-theory

  1. (4) The coefficient of cubic expansion should also be taken into account. This will result in an integral over temperature. :D

    PS: For each lukkha blogger, there exist many lukkhe commentators. :P

  2. hi,
    Just read your blog. You have got excellent comprehending and writing skills.We run a portal lakshyaiit.com, which is in development phase right now. For that we require an article on your college.It should contain some information of your institute which only a student studying there can provide and is not available on net(for ex. different hang outs, time pass, masti, hostel life etc.). If you are interested then plz contact me at sanchit@lakshyaiit.com. If we publish your work, we will put your blog address on our site below your article.

Leave a Reply

